Friends?

During a re-evaluation of my friendships, I get confused. What I’ve grown used to in my “friendships” I realized that it’s not normal, nor should it be called a friend…or friendships. Disclaimer: I’m not saying I don’t have any real friends, because I do. Just not as many as I thought I did.

Let’s get to it. I’ve noticed most of my so called friends, are only friends when it convenient for them. Some could give a rat ass as to what’s going on in my life but want me to know and care about what’s going on with theirs. Then you have those, who are so quick to smear dirt in my face, just to always try and one up me with something, but swear up and down they have my best interest at heart.

Let’s look up the words “friend”, “friendship”, “relationship”…

Friend: somebody emotionally close; somebody who trusts and is fond of another.

Friendship: a relationship between friends; the mutual feelings of trust and affection and the behavior that typify relationships between friends.

Relationships: Connection; a significant connection or similarity between two or more things, or the state of being related to something else.

Now those are dictionary meanings, and I know we all can agree that friendships are relationships that will build with people. Something like a support system, we help lift each other and are there when we are need, most times even when we are not. So why do I find myself in something opposite of that with some of my “friends”, where it seems everyone gives to get? A minuscule support system, if that and that’s just being nice.

I know what I need to do to some of these “friendships” but do I have courage. Well I wouldn’t use the word courage but I don’t know what to use. I figure that I know how they are and I will continue accordingly. I know that’s not good either.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Up4Dsn
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 21:35:25

    You know I can relate. I still don’t have a lot of ‘friends’. I think developing a mutual friendship is nearly as difficult as establishing a lasting, healthy and happy relationship. It takes more than what some people are willing to invest.

    Reply

    • Sunny
      Jun 14, 2012 @ 10:04:30

      Yes, I’m starting to think that too. I would love to have a mutual friendship… idk. I guess its wishful thinking.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Reply

  2. don
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 12:59:11

    Our thought patterns mirror, cause i just posted a post about friendship. Then I click onto your blog and see where you’ve addressed the issue as well. I truly believe we all share similar experiences with people otherwise known as friends, and it’s just a reminder to myself to always remember that not every one is a friend.

    It has to be accepted. Also, I try to watch when that tag is attached to myself. Surely it’s not in anyone’s best interest to call someone their friend, myself or others, if they’ve never proven themselves

    Reply

    • Sunny
      Jun 15, 2012 @ 13:50:31

      I have to check it out. Yes, I’m realizing that some are underserving of that title.

      I agree…with that last mini paragraph.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

Views

  • 174,426 views
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,947 other followers

