Ask J*

So I sent J from Up 4 Discussion a few questions, just to pick his brain… and he picked 3 to answer. I’m grateful this busy man was able to answer any of them. From podcast to keeping up with post and all the other things in his life. So thanks J!!

You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire. They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing he/she is your friend. The criticism is distasteful and unjustified. What do you do?

I’ll admit that to a certain extent I will remain quiet and just take in the things they are saying; but there does reach a point where lines get crossed and I will have no choice but to speak up or excuse myself from the discussion. I’m not one who enjoys gossiping or talking negatively about other people. I try to avoid such situations at all cost, but there are times when that isn’t possible. In those instances I will speak up. I will let the people I’m sitting with know that I don’t agree with what they are saying and that I can’t continue to sit there and listen to them speak negatively about a friend of mine.

What is your happiest childhood memory? What makes it so special?

I’ll admit that my memory of my childhood is a bit hazy. The things that stick out were Christmastime and summertime. That’s when I had the most fun. I remember waking up to so many toys on Christmas that I didn’t know which one to open first. There is no doubt that my mom used to go all out and spoil the mess out of me on Christmas…and I loved every moment of it. Aside from Christmas I remember spending the summer outside playing with my cousins and friends. We used to do everything imaginable: ride bikes, have water gun fights, climb trees, wrestle, play tag, shoot hoops, play pick’em up mess’em up and so much more. If there was ever a moment in time I could go back to it would be that. Those were some of the happiest and most enjoyable times of my life. What made them so special is that I was just care free. No worries, no stress, no drama. Just all smiles, jokes and fun!

Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?

I would rather lose all my old memories. The reason I choose that option is because I barely remember much of my past as it is. Sure I’d miss the moments that I do cherish and remember, but I’d like to think the greatest moments of my life haven’t occurred just yet. If that’s the case, I don’t want to risk not being able to cherish and hold on those memories that will soon come. Let me put it into perspective for those who still may not understand why I’ve made that choice. I don’t ever want to forget the memory of marrying the woman God created for me. That is a memory I want to carry into heaven with me. Likewise, I don’t want to lose the memory of my child’s birth and maturation. Nor do I want to forfeit the memory of fulfilling God’s purpose for my life. Therefore, I’d be willing to give up my past memories in a heartbeat in order to insure that I never forget the memories that are soon to come.

Thanks again J…and guys feel free to answer these questions below in the comment section. Also subscribe to Up 4 Discussion, and follow UP4DSN on twitter!!

14 responses to “Ask J*

  1. *tear* That was beautiful!

    “I don’t ever want to forget the memory of marrying the woman God created for me. That is a memory I want to carry into heaven with me. Likewise, I don’t want to lose the memory of my child’s birth and maturation. Nor do I want to forfeit the memory of fulfilling God’s purpose for my life.”

  2. How ironic:this just happened to me a day ago in a social circle.My man was talking about another dude who happened to be my cousin.He didn’t know it but he kept on.I let it go on.I feel fucked up in a way that I didn’t say,”Hey chill,that’s my cousin you talking about”.But then again,life’s too short.That’s my motto.Really doesn’t matter.

    • I can dig that. It all depends on the situation: the things that are being said and the person they are being said about. The closer the connection to that person, the more likely we probably are to speak up and say something. At least that’s what I like to think.

  3. Enjoyed the read. J, very sensible and positive personality, breath of fresh air. I too would keep quiet unless it became a matter of needing to step up and voice my opinion. I believe it’s all for the best. Sunny asked some good questions and J gave good answers.

    What made them so special is that I was just care free. No worries, no stress, no drama. Just all smiles, jokes and fun

    Wholeheartedly agreed.

      • Yes! Definitely throw Don some questions. Also, I apologize for not answering all your questions. I just couldn’t think of answers for the others…you’re question asking abilities are just too good. You always seem to stump me. lol

    • Thank you so much for the kind words Don. I’m with you. It all depends on the situation you find yourself in. That will determine the way we act.

      I don’t know about you, but miss those time man. They say it’s not until you grow up that you truly appreciate the time you spent as a child. That is so true. I would trade a year of my life to experience one day of my summer childhood. That’s real talk too.

Care to share your thoughts?

