Nas VS Jay Z: My Opinion

damn…he supa sexy.. Ma #1

Nasir “Nas” Jones to me is one of the best lyricists of all time. I love his play on words. I respect that he choose to be different than a lot of rappers this day and age.

A lot of his songs showcased his lyrical talent. Three of which were on the album “Stillmatic: Ether (#2), Rewind (#6), and One Mic (#7)” Nothing Jay Z has ever done or may come out with can touch those lyrically.

Sidebar: Did you notice that everyone who like 2pac (another great lyricist) like Nas. And those people who thought Biggie was better than 2pac like Jay Z?

Now, I’m not going flat out say Jay Z has no talent because he does, he’s a hustler and he knows what to do to make the albums sell. But that doesn’t make him a better lyricist than Nas. Anyone who thinks that has no clue what a good lyricist is.

Granted, I like Jay Z’s “Vol. 2…hard Knock Life” & “Vol. 3…Life and Times of S. Carter”, but I love every album Nas has ever came out with from “Illmatic” to “Untitled Album (N*****)” and any upcoming albums (Distant Relatives) he write after that. I highly doubt I could ever NOT like a Nas album.

And as far as Nas being on Jay Z’s record label….so what? Jay Z recognizes talent. They squashed their beef already..

What’s your take on this? Explain… I’ll try to compose myself and not get too mad if I don’t agree with you. LOL

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Nas VS Jay Z: My Opinion

  1. mokr1 December 8, 2009 at 4:28 pm Reply

    hustling is a talent..

    most people can get hustled very well.. but only a select few can really hustle..

    either way.. i agree.. Nas is far above Jay Z in the lyrical prowess category

  2. LEA December 8, 2009 at 7:26 pm Reply

    AWW MAN I THOUGHT WE WOULD GET ALONG GREAT AND THEN U DO THIS TO ME. LOL IN THE WORDS OF JAY I THINK I HAVE TO GIVE U A REMINDER HERE IT IS:

    See I was — born in sewage, born to make bomb music
    Flow tight like I was born Jewish
    Used the streets as a conduit – I kept arms
    38 longs inside my mom’s Buick
    At any given moment Shawn could lose it, be on the news
    Iron cuffs – arms through it; or stuffed with embalmin fluid
    Shit, I’m goin through it – mom dukes too
    Tears streamin down her pretty face, she got her palms to it
    My life is gettin too wild
    I need to bring some sort kinda calm to it
    Bout to lose it; voices screamin “Don’t do it!”
    It’s like ’93, ’94, bout the year
    that Big and Mag dropped; and “Illmatic” rocked
    outta every rag drop, and the West had it locked
    Everybody doin ‘em, I’m still scratchin on the block
    like “Damn; I’ma be a failure”
    Surrounded by thugs, drugs, and drug – paraphenalia
    Cops courts, and their thoughts is to derail us
    Three time felons in shorts with jealous thoughts
    Tryin figure where your mail is, guesstimate the weight you sellin
    So they can send shots straight to your melon; wait!
    It gets worse, baby momma water burst
    Baby came out stillborn, still I gotta move on
    Though my heart still torn, life gone from her womb
    Don’t worry, if it was meant to be, it’ll be — soon

    I FOUND MYSELF A FAN AFTER HIS FIRST ON THIS CAN’T BE LIFE!!!! SERIOUSLY THOUGH I DONT HATE NAS I ROCKED TO HIS SONGS AS WELL, BUT JAY JUST HOLDS A SPECIAL PLACE IN MY HEART. THE AMERICAN GANGSTER CD WAS CLASSIC ON SO MANY LEVELS, THESE YOUNG NUCKLE HEADS DONT KNOW HOW TO APPRECIATE EITHER ONE OF THESE MC’S

  3. LEA December 8, 2009 at 7:27 pm Reply

    I MEANT HIS VERSE ON THIS CANT BE LIFE, IM TYPING TO FAST

  4. Mr.TramueL™ December 9, 2009 at 1:06 am Reply

    I think you crushing on Nas. It’s a tough call! I’m with you though, lyrically my nod goes to Nas too. Like you I’ve purchased all of Mr. Jone’s albums (Not from hustle man either) I think he lacks in production on some of his tracks, maybe not lacking but they don’t have that crossover appeal.

    I’m a huge fan of Jay too but ETHER dead’d everything! There is no comeback for that. Game Over.

    “All I did was gave you a style for you to run with Smiling in my face, glad to break bread with the god …”

  5. sunnydelyte21 December 9, 2009 at 9:15 am Reply

    @ Mokr1: I can’t deny that hustling is a talent. Jay Z has mastered that. I gotta give it to him.

    @ Mr. TramueL: Yes, I’m crushing on him, but that doesn’t take away from his lyrical talent. Nas got crazy skills. “Ether” is fire. And your right there’s no comeback after that.

    @ LEA: We can still get along great, we just have to agree to disagree. I can’t appreicate Jay Z’s talent but I stick to my word. His lyrical skills can’t touch Nas. See I’m showin’ love for you by even letting that crap (his bars) grace my blog…LOL

  6. Ron254 December 9, 2009 at 3:16 pm Reply

    Nas and jay z are super dope emcees but Nas is way more superior on lyrcism poetry and flow. Nas paints stories with words in a way many emcees try to copy but cant come with the real.

    • sunnydelyte21 December 9, 2009 at 3:30 pm Reply

      I appreicate you words. And I so agree!!

      • Mr.TramueL™ December 9, 2009 at 3:37 pm Reply

        Agreed.

  7. lea December 9, 2009 at 8:13 pm Reply

    lol yeah u right, we can agree to disagree but just know that I am sitting over here with my Team Jay shirt on. lol I like this place so I will most def be back

    • sunnydelyte21 December 10, 2009 at 11:39 am Reply

      Greatly appriecated. Come back now ya hear!! LOL

  8. Mr.TramueL™ December 10, 2009 at 2:29 pm Reply

    I heard / read somewhere that Nas & Jay are working on the remix to Empire State of Mind.

Care to share your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,553 other followers

