Poetry Spotlight: Presenting O’Dell Harmon “1 on 1”

O'Dell

O'Harmons

1 on 1

Nonchalant has always been my prescription as a preventive measure for immunity to feelings in this war of love. But you loaded a semi automatic rifle with a clip of my feelings. And I found out the hard way, that ultimately I couldn’t run from them…

Your presence commits homicide on my minds ability to focus, as if the treatment you give me has been saturated in lead based paint. Declaring warfare on my body’s central nervous system, infesting my stomach with butterflies at the sight of your name on inboxes and caller id’s…

Our connection from day one had more impact than a fallen acme anvil. And since then nothing seemed to have importance when we’re together except being at our best. Constantly exhibiting cockiness in our newly found happiness. Making comparisons in the way we see other couples interact or convincing ourselves that Martin and Gina would enjoy watching us on DVD.

The modern day George and Weezy. Lights, camera, no action necessary… Giving our best performances in front of a capacity crowd of 2… Reality TV at it’s best. Striving to broadcast encores of the days that made us who we are in the first place. Replaying marathons of our favorite love scenes in our head daily. “Pillow Talk” starring: You and I, play time: 2 hours and 20 minutes, nonstop action displaying with full HD…

Realizing that it’s us against the world, so the best way to win is by not letting the world in. Just you and I, on the St. Valentino expressway. Buckle up, because like you, I’m in this for the long haul. No passengers allowed…

If you wanna share your poetry with my readers feel free to shoot me an email with “Poetry Spotlight” in the subject line and I will make it happen. Thanks O’Dell I enjoy your poetry and I admire your lyrical talent!! Follow him on twitter @Eazy_As_Dell and his blog…”O’Harmons 2 Cents

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Poetry Spotlight: Presenting O’Dell Harmon “1 on 1”

  1. sunnydelyte21 December 7, 2011 at 10:04 am Reply

    I really enjoyed this poem.

    This is the best part: “Realizing that it’s us against the world, so the best way to win is by not letting the world in. Just you and I, on the St. Valentino expressway. Buckle up, because like you, I’m in this for the long haul. No passengers allowed…”

    Thanks again for allowing me to share your poetry here!!

  2. kdaddy23 December 7, 2011 at 3:03 pm Reply

    I’m no poet and admit I’m not really into it – but this one had impact! Of course, I wish the brother nothing but success in this!

    • oharmons2cents December 7, 2011 at 5:22 pm Reply

      It’s a major pat on the back when I can give something to a very casual reader, or even better yet one who isn’t into poetry at all. Thanks for reading bro!

  3. Content Writers December 7, 2011 at 3:53 pm Reply

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have excellent content on your blog.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Content Writers Jobs

Care to share your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,556 other followers

